Discover Your Summer Events & Activities

Join us for Discover Your Summer: Summer Reading decorating events, kickoff parties, crafts, and more! | All Ages

SUMMER READING CLUB CHALLENGE

June 21 – August 27 | All Ages

This summer, join our Discover Your Summer Reading Club to read and get rewards, enter raffles for prizes, and more! Click the button below to learn more.

Learn About Summer Reading Club!

Discover Your Summer: Drop-In Crafts!

June 14 & 28, July 12 & 26, August 9, 16, & 30 | Open Hours | Teens

Stop into the Central Library every other Tuesday between June 14 to Aug 30, to see what creative project is waiting for you.

At the following library locations: Central Library

Discover Your Summer: Crafts & Scavenger Hunts!

All Summer Long | Open Hours | All Ages

Check with your local library branch to see what activities, crafts, and scavenger hunts they have going on that week! Available while supplies last.

At All Library Locations

Summer reading Challenge accepted!

3rd Wednesday of the Month: July 20, August 17
3:00-4:30 PM | All Ages

The Summer Reading Challenge is on! Join us for a monthly meet-up to enjoy some snacks and chat about the books that we’re reading – and what we’re excited to read next!

At the following library locations: East Forest Park Branch

How Many? How much? How heavy?

June 21 – August 27th | Open Hours | All Ages

Using your best guesses, guess how many, or how much, or how heavy are the items in our Guessing Jar. Twice a month there will be a new jar. Closest guess wins a small prize.

At the following library locations: Indian Orchard Branch

summer reading celebration!

Thursday, July 7th | 1-2 PM at Brightwood | 3-5 PM at East Springfield
Children & Families

Celebrate Summer Reading! Performer Tom Sieling will keep your toes tapping with an “ocean-full” of songs guaranteed to entertain the whole family. Come join the fun! Refreshments provided.

At the following library locations: Brightwood Branch & East Springfield Brach

Summer Feeding = Summer Reading

Monday through Friday: June 27 – August 26th | All Ages Up to 18

Visit the library locations listed below for special activities, like gardening programs, food trucks visits, as well as delicious nutritious lunches for kids up to age 18!

For more information go to: www.homegrownspringfield.org

June Crafts for Children, Teens, & Families

Crafts and activities at the library in June! | Children, Teens, and Families

Father’s Day Cards

Saturday, June 4 – Saturday, June 18 | Open Hours | All Ages

Drop by to make a card for dear ol’ Dad. Supplies and templates will be provided so that you can craft a card that will put a smile on the face of Dad, Pop, Grandpa and Uncle Joe. Show someone how special they are with a personalized card made by you! All supplies provided.

At the following library locations: All Library Locations

bad art night

Wednesday, June 29 | 5:00-6:00 PM | Children & Teens

Head to the children’s room at Central Library to make the weirdest and worst art you’ve ever seen! Geared for ages 5+.

At the following library locations: Central Library

The Haunting of Mirror Lake Manor: A D&D Mini-Campaign

Join us for a seven-week Mini-Campaign online! Beginners and seasoned players welcome. | Teens

Online
Saturdays | April 16, 23, 30 | May 7, 14, 21, 28 | June 4
2:00-4:30 pm | Ages 13-18 | Register for the Campaign

Have you been itching to play D&D? Join us for a seven week Mini Campaign “The Haunting of Mirror Lake Manor!” Beginners and seasoned players welcome.

This program will be held online only. We will use a combination of Zoom and Roll20. (Computers at library locations will be available for the program if needed.)

The campaign will run every Saturday afternoon between April 16th and June 4th, from 2:00-4:30 PM. Registration is required, as program space is limited to 6 players. The registration link is above. Please be aware that you will be registering for all dates of the campaign.

Please send any questions to DM Sam Hoffman: shoffman@springfieldlibrary.org

1000 Books Before Kindergarten

Read just one book a day to build a foundation for lifelong success. Prizes awarded for every 100 books! | Children

All Library Locations
Starts January 2022, ongoing

All it takes is sharing one book a day with your child to build a foundation for lifelong success. Start your child’s book journey today! The goal is to have read 1,000 books before your precious one starts kindergarten.

If you read just 1 book a day, you will have read about 365 books in a year. That is 730 books in two years and 1,095 books in three years. If you consider that most children start kindergarten at around 5 years of age, you have more time than you think. So, let’s get started!

How to Participate

Read with your child. Studies have shown that reading with your child provides a great opportunity for bonding. Reading together is fun and will create life-long memories for the both of you.

Keep track of the number of books you read with your child. Ask your librarian for a paper log to start on your reading journey.

You may choose instead to log your books online using Beanstack. Visit our Beanstack website or download the app to log your books digitally. You can view Beanstack instructions here or ask a librarian on how to use it.

After each 100 books you read, visit your local Springfield City Library branch to collect your free book prize. After 1000 books, come in and get a tote bag!

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can participate in this program?
– Any child from birth until they enter kindergarten.

How long does the program take?
– The program will take anywhere from a few months to a few years. The program is self-paced and will depend on how often you read together.

Can we repeat books?
– Yes!

How many of my children can participate?
– All of them (provided they have not started kindergarten). Make it even more fun and read as a family!

Romance Book Club – Online

Get your Happily Ever After fix from the Romance Book Club! | Online | Adults

Our Romance Book Club meets online! Registration is optional to get reminders and book choices, click for  link.

ONLINE via Zoom
Saturdays once a month | NEW TIME! 10:00-11:00 AM | Adults

Dates coming up:
July 16
August 27
September 24
October 22
November 19
December 17

CLICK FOR ZOOM LINK for meeting each month.

Join us for the Romance Book Club! We try and read as many romance genres as we can, sharing our thoughts and expanding our romance reading experience. As long as it has a happily ever after, it’s fair game.

Typically each month we choose the book for the following month.

July Book Choice
We will be reading Never Been Kissed by Timothy Janovsky.

Wren Roland has never been kissed, but he wants that movie-perfect ending more than anything. Feeling nostalgic on the eve of his birthday, he sends emails to all the boys he (ahem) loved before he came out. Morning brings the inevitable Oh God What Did I Do?, but he brushes that panic aside. Why stress about it? None of his could-have-beens are actually going to read the emails, much less respond. Right?

Enter Derick Haverford, Wren’s #1 pre-coming-out-crush and his drive-in theater’s new social media intern. Everyone claims he’s coasting on cinematic good looks and his father’s connections, but Wren has always known there’s much more to Derick than meets the eye. Too bad he doesn’t feel the same way about the infamous almost-kiss that once rocked Wren’s world.

Whatever. Wren’s no longer a closeted teenager; he can survive this. But as their hazy summer becomes consumed with a special project that may just save the struggling drive-in for good, Wren and Derick are drawn ever-closer…and maybe, finally, Wren’s dream of a perfect-kiss-before-the-credits is within reach.

A feel-good summer LGBTQIA+ New Adult RomCom, perfect for fans of Red White & Royal Blue, Boyfriend Material, and What If It’s Us.

Catalog link (paper book)
CWMARS OverDrive (e-book) (more copies coming soon)
Hoopla link (e-book) and Hoopla link (e-audiobook)instant downloads, no waiting, with a Springfield City Library card

See previous group book choices below the group guidelines – scroll down.

Our Romance collection librarian will tell you all about exciting additions to the collection, and we’ll get your input on what you’d like to see more of and what we should read.

Register if you’d like to be added to our email list, but no registration is required – just join us at the Zoom link, above. For adults 18+.

Please email Elizabeth McKinstry at emckinstry@springfieldlibrary.org or Anna Mickelsen at amickelsen@springfieldlibrary.org if you have any questions, or call either one of us at 413-263-6828 x213.


Group Guidelines

The book group will meet monthly via zoom to discuss books in the romance genre. Our definition of romance includes both HEA (Happily Ever After) and HFN (Happy For Now) endings. We will discuss what we read on our own, talk about forthcoming titles, and also pick books to read as a group, either voting on titles prepared by group leaders or taking turns selecting titles.

This book group will strive to be a safe and inclusive space. Racist and homophobic remarks will not be tolerated, and the group may set other content lines to be drawn in discussion or in reading material (e.g., mentions of self-harm, gore, sexual assault) in order to make the experience as fun for all participants as possible. As this is a romance book group, it should be assumed that books read and discussed will often include sex, sometimes explicit in nature.

Book group leaders will:

  • Read the entire book
  • Gather information to help enhance the discussion
  • Be prepared to offer counter opinions – even if they differ from our own
  • Be prepared to begin new lines of discussion when necessary
  • Not let one person monopolize the discussion
  • Be willing and prepared to take control of the group, firmly but respectfully

Book group participants will:

  • Make their best effort to complete the book
  • Come ready to both share and listen
  • Be ready to back up opinions with the “why”
  • Have a great time — if you stop enjoying it, let the leader know

Previous books read:

Free Citizenship Classes

The Read/Write/Now Center is accepting reservations for free citizenship classes.

Library Express at Pine Point

A new round of Free Citizenship Classes will be starting soon. The Read/Write/Now Center will provide the study materials and instructional support. Please call for more information at 413-263-6839.

These classes are brought to you with federal funds provided by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and administered by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.