Recent Recommendations from our Instagram

We are so excited to announce that we will be partnering with the @masscenterforbook for the 2024 Reading Challenge! New year, new reading challenge!

There are a few differences this year:

-No sign-up form. Your January entry will sign you up!

-There will be a prize drawing each month! Two lucky readers who submit entries by the last day of the month will each win a book.

-Participants can now join the 2024 MA Reading Challenge Facebook group, where they can share their reading experiences and book recommendations with other readers.

-The 2024 Reading Challenge will operate on a NEW submission platform. Participants will be able to track their entries throughout the year by logging in. It will open for January submissions soon. mareadingchallenge.org

For more information, head to massbook.org/readingchallenge
And stay tuned to our social media posts for monthly recommendations!

#massbookreadingchallenge #readingchallenge #libraries #SCLrecs #springfieldma
...

Stop by the library to check out our new large-print books! If you are looking for a specific title, give us a call and we can put it on hold for you.

#SCLrecs #largeprintbooks #newbooks #library #SpringfieldMA
...

The movie version of "Are You There God? It`s Me, Margaret." by Judy Blume is getting rave reviews. Get it and similar books for tweens at your favorite library location! #SCLRecs ...

For the first time ever, the Pulitzer board has given out two fiction prizes simultaneously, to Hernan Diaz’s “Trust” and Barbara Kingsolver’s “Demon Copperhead." Get these and other Pulitzer winners and nominees at your favorite library location! #SCLRecs ...

For those who love mysteries with punny titles and amateur sleuths, check out our new cozy mysteries at the library!

#SCLrecs #cozymysteries #springfieldma #newbooks #Libraries
...

It`s Earth Day! Grab a book from the library and read all about our amazing home planet! #EarthDay #SCLRecs ...

Anne Perry, the prolific London-born author of historical and socially conscious crime fiction who in her teens served five years in prison for murder, a sordid past that came to wide attention with the release of a 1994 movie, died on Monday in Los Angeles. She was 84.

Ms. Perry’s criminal past was revealed publicly in the summer of 1994 when word leaked out that Peter Jackson would recount her story in his forthcoming film “Heavenly Creatures,” starring Kate Winslet as the smugly confident teenage girl who later changed her name to Anne Perry and Melanie Lynskey as her sullen and insecure classmate Pauline. The film was released in November.

Her first novel, “The Cater Street Hangman,” was published in 1979. Kirkus Reviews called it “a hearty mystery/romance” and concluded that “Perry’s easy, irreverent Victoriana is the real attraction here.”

Her most recent novel is “The Traitor Among Us,” the fifth installment in her Elena Standish series, begun in 2019, centering on a female English detective. It is to be published in September. [New York Times, April 12, 2023] #AnnePerry #SCLRecs
...

Whether you like a romance novel that’s sweet, suspenseful, sporty, or historical, we’ve got you covered! Check out the new paperback romance novels at the library.

For more recommendations, ask a librarian!

#SCLrecs #springfieldma #romancereads #newbooks
...

Check out these books about birding, and join us this May-September as a Fish and Wildlife guide takes us along the Riverwalk to observe birds and other flora and fauna! https://www.springfieldlibrary.org/library/riverfront-walk-talk/
#SCLrecs #413Birding #413Birds #Birding
...

The Ezra Jack Keats Award was created to nurture illustrators and writers, early in their careers, who create extraordinary books that reflect our diverse population, the universal experience of childhood and the strength of family and community. Over the years the EJK has succeeded in fostering the early careers of many of our country’s leading children’s book makers. (https://www.ejkf.org/about-the-ejk-award/) Get these from your favorite library! #SCLRecs #EzraJackKeatsAwards ...

For fans of Daisy Jones and the Six - book or series! #SCLRecs #DaisyJonesAndTheSix ...

Celebrate St. Patrick`s Day with these great stories from your library!
#StPatricksDay #SCLRecs
...

March is #WomensHistoryMonth! Get these and many more books about amazing women in the library, or on the Libby/Overdrive or hoopla apps, right on your device at home!
#SCLRecs
...

"Ian Falconer, who had built a successful career designing opera sets with David Hockney and drawing covers for The New Yorker when he turned a character he had originally created as a Christmas gift for a niece into “Olivia,” a children’s book about a rambunctious piglet that became a publishing sensation, died on Tuesday in Norwalk, Conn. He was 63." [NYT] #SCLRecs #IanFalconer ...

Check out these recommendations for adults, teens, and kids! All these books have a character for whom ADHD, autism, OCD, anxiety, or other forms of neurodivergence are a part of the characters` lives. #SCLRecs ...

Love romance? Check out these new rom-coms! #SCLRecs #RomanceReads ...

Love Black Panther: Wakanda Forever? Check out these books and graphic novels with speculative fiction themes!
#BlackPanther #WakandaForever #SCLRecs
...

Cold nights and scary stories! Are you Yeti to Read?
#SCLRecs
...

Check out these or many other Valentine stories for kids at your local library!
#ValentinesDay #SCLRecs
...

Big fans of the games or the new TV show? Love apocalyptic fiction? Check out these read-alikes for The Last Of Us!
#TheLastOfUs #TLOU #TheLastOfUsHBO #SCLRecs
...

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins
Error: Access Token is not valid or has expired. Feed will not update.

Library News

Announcing “Books and Brew” at White Lion Brewing

September 10 will be the first meeting of a quarterly book club for young professionals.

City of Springfield invites Residents to respond to Opioid Recovery Remediation Fund (ORRF) Survey

Springfield will receive from the ORRF a minimum of $7 million dollars over the next 15 years.

Mayor Sarno joins East Springfield Library Branch to Celebrate National Library Week

The Springfield Libraries celebrated all our libraries all week with special events for National Library Week (Sunday, April 7 through Saturday, April 13)