The Springfield Library Foundation

The Springfield Library Foundation Treasurer and President
The Springfield Library Foundation past President and current Treasurer Charles V. Ryan (on the left) with current President Patrick Markey

About the Foundation

The Springfield Library Foundation was formed in 2005 and is incorporated as a 501(c)3 tax exempt, not-for-profit corporation organized and operated exclusively for the benefit of the Springfield City Library.

The Foundation has two primary purposes:

  1. To responsibly steward and manage endowed and other funds entrusted to the Foundation’s care by donors going back more than a century ago.
  2. To encourage philanthropy and raise new funds, both restricted and unrestricted, in support of the Library’s programs, materials, services and facilities.

Fulfilling these two purposes will enrich the lives of every library patron, and ensure that Springfield’s Library system remains vibrant and responsive to community needs.

Since its founding, the Foundation has granted approximately $1.75 million to the Library for books and materials alone, and now provides nearly one third of the Library’s annual materials budget. In addition, the Foundation has supported various facility improvements throughout the system, as well as planning and staff development initiatives for library staff.

The largest individual fund at the Foundation is the Annie Curran Endowment, devoted to the Mason Square Branch Library. Since 2011, the Curran Endowment has generated over $795,000 for Mason Square operating expenses. Every year, the Branch hosts a Community Festival in Ms. Curran’s honor, and “Annie’s Reading Porch,” a play structure for children, is a popular fixture in the branch’s children’s area.

Promise Realized Campaign

Promise Realized Capital Campaign

In September of 2017, the Library Foundation launched the Promise Realized Capital Campaign, which will help raise funds needed to give the East Forest Park Branch Library its own building. To read more about this incredible project and how to support it, visit the Promise Realized Capital Campaign page.

Board of Directors

The Springfield Library Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors, all of whom serve without compensation. The By-Laws determine the makeup of the Board of Directors and the rules of governance.

Patrick Markey, President
Barbara J. Garvey, Vice President
Stephen Cary, Springfield Library Commission Chairman
Charles V. Ryan, Treasurer
Molly Fogarty, Clerk
John Dailey
Helen Caulton Harris
Mary Ann G. Maloney
Edward Pikula
T.J. Plante
Mayor Domenic Sarno
Elizabeth Stevens
Ben Swan, Jr.

How Can I Help? Please tell us about yourself