Newspapers | Magazines, Journals & Special Topics | Careers, Languages & Education | Encyclopedias, Biography & Reference

History & Genealogy | Music, Literature & Art | Health & Science | Business & Nonprofits | Spanish

Newspapers

Springfield Republican & Western Massachusetts newspapers

(Republican coverage: 1988 – current) Other newspapers include: Advocate (North Adams), Amherst Bulletin, Berkshire Eagle, Daily Hampshire Gazette, North Adams Transcript, Recorder (Greenfield), Springfield Advocate, Springfield Examiner, and Valley Advocate. Remote access available to C/WMARS cardholders from Western Massachusetts only.

Springfield Republican Archives Online Index

Use this index to find newspaper dates for microfilm searches. Limited to dates shown currently on search page. The library does not have access to the full archives.

Boston Globe

Full-text coverage of the newspaper of record for Massachusetts from 1980.

New York Times

Search the full text of The New York Times back to 1985. Indexed coverage to 1965.

Authentication by geolocation for statewide electronic resource remote access is now available. Anyone living and working in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts now has access to the full suite of Gale and Encyclopedia Britannica databases without entering a library barcode.

Magazines, Journals & Special Topics

Full Suite of Gale Online Resources

Includes cross-searchable products. One stop list of all Gale databases including Gale’s Virtual Reference Library.

Academic OneFile

Use this comprehensive periodical resource of full-text peer-reviewed content for over 10,000 manually indexed journals and reference works covering all subjects, including the full-text of The New York Times back to 1995 and NPR, CNN & CBC transcripts and podcasts.

General OneFile

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Criminal Justice Collection

Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to hundreds of full-text journals.

Culinary Arts Collection

Includes major cooking and nutrition magazines, culinary journals and several Delmar Reference titles. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Environmental Studies & Policy Collection

Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes magazines and academic journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Articles from scholarly, trade and general-interest publications. Full-text, abstracts, and citations to articles from 1980 – present.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A mix of dozens of full-text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues.

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Collection

Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture.

General Reference Center Gold

Articles from magazines, journals, and reference books of general interest, including current events, business, consumer help, and popular culture. Full-text, abstracts, and citations from 1980 – present, updated daily.

Global Issues In Context

Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection

With current and relevant content from industry journals, travel guides and magazines this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field.

Careers, Languages & Education Resources

Brainfuse Live Online Homework Help

Free live help for students and learners of all ages, available from any computer! HelpNow provides live tutoring in English, math, science and social studies, elementary through adult levels. Help with student papers and resumes. SAT/ACT/citizenship test prep, career resources and more. Spanish-speaking tutors available. Google Play app available. Remote access available to Springfield City Library cardholders only.

Mango Languages

Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans for 13 different languages: Arabic (Levantine), Chinese (Mandarin), French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Spanish (Latin America) and ESL for Russian speakers, ESL for Spanish (Latin America) speakers, ESL for Vietnamese speakers. Requires Springfield City Library card for remote access.

Career Transitions

Complete, self-paced application that walks job-seekers through the entire process from assessing strengths and interests, to exploring new opportunities, to ultimately improving the chances of landing a job. Requires a Springfield City Library card for remote access.

Learning Express (Learn-A-Test)

Each of the several Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Practice for such tests as the GED, SAT and AP, ASVAB, Civil Service, TOEFL, and many others in the privacy of your home. Register with your library card number and a password of your choice. Requires a Springfield City Library card.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Educator’s Reference Complete

Over 1100 periodicals and 200 reports for educational research from preschool to college. Every educational specialty can be found here including technology, health and bilingual education, testing, and issues in administration, funding and policy.

Encyclopedias, Biography & Reference

Biography in Context

Thousands of online full-text biographies from Gale reference books. Includes Encyclopedia of World Biography, Who’s Who Among African-Americans, Maclean’s, Contemporary Authors, and many more important biographical reference sources. Search by name, occupation, ethnicity, and more.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Comprehensive encyclopedia meeting the reference needs for all patrons from students, to business professionals and lifelong learners. Offers “adult” and “kids” interface. Includes a dictionary, thesaurus, videos, images, primary sources, and e-books.

Literature Resource Center

Includes biographical entries on more than 135,000 authors.

Encyclopedia Britannica: World Data Analyst

This rich trove of current and historical statistics on the countries of the world makes historical and cross-national comparisons easy.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A mix of dozens of full-text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.

Merriam-Webster Unabridged

Access to the full-text of Merriam-Webster’s flagship dictionary, plus the Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and Merriam-Webster Atlas.

History & Genealogy

Ancestry.com

ProQuest has partnered with Ancestry.com to create Ancestry Library Edition, one of the most important genealogical collections available today with unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom. In-library use only.

Encyclopedia Britannica: Annals of American History

Explore the rich and varied history of the United States. Provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action. Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through their speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews.

Massachusetts History Online

Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts history, both past and present, including people, places, historical events and more.

U.S. History In Context

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

World History In Context

Gale World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Music, Literature & Art

Freegal Music Downloads

Freegal Music gives you access to over 7 million songs from over 28,000 labels including the Sony Music catalogue of your country. For Springfield City Library cardholders only.

Books & Authors

Offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select

An extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study.

Grove Art Online

Foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art. Offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 2,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, and extensive image links.

Literature Resource Center

Included are biographical entries on more than 135,000 authors providing detailed biographical, bibliographical and contextual information about authors’ lives and works, more than 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays and reviews..

NoveList

Need some ideas on what novels to read? This reader’s advisory tool will help. Search award and prize booklists by genre; search by plot, title, or author to find similar books; browse books by subject; explore fiction through genres and subcategories; read reviews, descriptions and articles; etc. Records from your search are linked to Springfield City Library catalog searches by title or author.

Health & Science

Environmental Studies & Policy Collection

Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes magazines and academic journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Health Reference Center Academic

Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, substance abuse, HMOs, etc. Plus medical directories, pamphlets, and a dictionary. Materials in this database are intended for informational purposes only. Full-text, abstracts, citations from 1980 to the present, updated daily. Material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

All aspects of the nursing profession — from direct patient care to health care administration — are covered. This collection’s current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Nursing Resource Center

Supports nursing programs at two-year community colleges, four-year colleges and vocational education high schools, as well as public libraries nationwide. Includes NCLEX-RN test prep.

Sports Medicine and Physical Therapy Collection

Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine.

Science In Context

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. Merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Facts on File: Science Online

Contains extensive information on a broad range of scientific disciplines. Includes biographies, essays on cutting-edge science issues, science experiments, diagrams and a searchable timeline of scientific and medical discoveries. Use capital “D” when entering library card number.

Business & Nonprofits

Foundation Directory Online (FDO) (Foundation Center)

A searchable database of 80,000+ U.S. foundations, grantmaking public charities, and corporate givers, including sponsoring company information. Additional program information and expanded application guidelines for larger funders. Links to over 7,400 grantmaker and corporate Web sites. Links to IRS 990-PF and 990 returns. See a librarian for assistance. In-library use at Central Library only.

Reference USA

Search for company information by name, location, sales volume, size, or line of business. Entries include company directory data, SIC numbers, and 800 numbers and websites where available. Results can be downloaded to disk for use in Excel spreadsheets. Residential database includes ability to do reverse searches by address and telephone number. Remote access for Springfield City Library cardholders only.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online (GTIO) (Foundation Center)

A searchable online database of more than 6,200 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. See a librarian for assistance. In-library use at Central Library only.

Business Insights: Essentials

Research and analyze companies and industries around the world.

General Business File ASAP

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.

Philanthropy In/Sight (Foundation Center)

This interactive mapping tool was designed for grantmakers, policymakers, researchers, academics — virtually anyone interested in the impact of philanthropy around the world today.

Spanish

Encyclopedia Britannica: Spanish Edition Moderna (9-12)

The most comprehensive encyclopedia in the Spanish language, includes over 50,000 encyclopedia articles plus images, maps, and tables. Complete with a dictionary, atlas, and timelines, it’s the perfect resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Encyclopedia Britannica: Spanish Edition Escolar (K-8)

Enrich the learning of elementary students with the virtual environment of Britannica Escolar Online featuring interactive games, articles, videos, multimedia, maps and much more!